Hopkinton is conveniently located along Highway 38 between Monticello and Delhi and is approximately 40 miles from city hubs of Dubuque and Cedar Rapids. Nestled along one of Iowa’s Scenic Byways, you can find many attractions along the Delaware Crossing Scenic Byway. One of them being the Delaware County Historical Museum, which is centered around the former Lenox College Campus.

Along with the robust history, Hopkinton offers beautiful parks with pavilions, playgrounds, a pool, a ball diamond, and water access to the Maquoketa River. You’ll find eat-in, carry out, drinks, as well as options for catering.

The town comes alive with events such as Civil War Days, Lenox Days, Hot Rods & Harleys car show, and many educational events put on by the Hopkinton Public Library


Monday: Closed
Tuesday – Thursday:  10am-5pm
Friday:   10am-2pm
Saturday:   9am-11am
Sunday: Closed


110 First Street S.E.
P.O. Box 220
Hopkinton, IA 52237-0220


Kim Albright

Hopkinton Library

Maquoketa Valley School District

Hopkinton Elementary:
131 Culver Rd SW, Hopkinton, IA
Phone: (563)-926-2701


Hopkinton Community Church

107 Third St. N.W.
Hopkinton, IA 52237

St. Luke’s Catholic Church

206 First St. S.E.
Hopkinton, IA 52237


Father Paul Baldwin

Hot Rods & Harleys Car Show
Annual Hot Rods & Harleys Car Show, Hopkinton, IA

The community of Hopkinton has a wonderful volunteer Fire & EMS to serve residents. In 2024 a new Regional Family Health clinic was built to provide easy access to healthcare in the southeastern Delaware County area. Hopkinton is home to multiple parks, including the Pool Side Park and Swimming Pool, as well as Dunlap Park, a county park, right along the Maquoketa River with access to put in tubes and kayaks. The Hopkinton Public Library provides many events and opportunities for community involvement and learning. You’ll find active groups such as, Lions, Legion, Knights of Columbus, 4H, HOPE, and Keep Iowa Beautiful who are large contributors to this thriving community.

Along with these great attractions, you’ll find agriculture, retail, auto body shops, convenience stores, day care facilities, construction services, and places to dine and enjoy your time in Hopkinton, Iowa.



Craig Lange

Council Members:

Kelly Bush
Nick Hunter
Julie Davis
Marcus Supple
Janet Buckner

City Clerk:

Sarah Helle
Phone: (563) 926-2181
Fax: (563) 926-2065
115 First St. SE P.O. Box 154
Hopkinton, IA 52237-0154
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-12pm & 1pm-4pm

Council Meetings:

The city council meetings are held in the City Council Chambers, 115 First Street S.E. at 7 p.m. on the second Monday of each month. The public is encouraged to attend all council meetings. The city council follows an agenda which is printed the Friday prior to the Monday council meeting. If a citizen would like to place an item on the agenda, please call city hall (563) 926-2181 for information. All agenda items should be submitted by the Thursday prior to the Monday council meeting. The mayor presides at the city council meetings.

Department Heads:

City Superintendent: Brock Davis, (563) 926-2181
Streets and Public works: Tyler Cole, (563) 926-2181
Fire Chief: Greg Kemp, (563) 926-2403
Ambulance Director:  Julie Kemp, (563) 926-2181



A great asset to our community is our Hopkinton Municipal Utilities (HMU). They provide water and electricity to our city. They also have back-up generators to supply electricity to the city during power outages and also can sell electricity to other cities.

Garbage and bi-weekly recycling are provided by Kluesner Sanitation.
Sewer is provided by the City of Hopkinton.
Windstream is the provider for our basic phone service.
Black Hills Energy is the area natural gas provider.
Comelec and Windstream both service the areas internet needs.

Hopkinton Municipal Utilities (HMU):

Utility Superintendent: Chris Kemp, (563) 926-2480
Utility Clerk: Jacqueline Davis, (563) 926-2480

111 First Street SE P.O. Box 129
Hopkinton, IA 52237-0129
Phone: (563)926-2480
Fax: (563)926-2065
E-mail: hopmuni@n-connect.net
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-12pm & 1pm-4pm

HMU Board:

Chairman: Rick Lange
Trustee: William Murray
Trustee: Dan Tucker